Emerging…

Well I guess the issues have been delivered by now and the cat’s already out of the bag on FB so…

gottuso CM

I’m very excited about emerging and want to thank Ceramics Monthly for selecting me. One of the interesting things about this is that since one of the criterion is having less than 10 years in the game, I would assume that most of the emerging artist are relatively young. In my case, I got a late start and only started at the ripe age of 46. I’m not saying that 55 is old but it is well past the time when one realizes that they can no longer play the “hey, I could possibly only be halfway through my life” game. At 46, it was absurd but not necessarily impossible to live to be 92 but each year makes the game more ridiculous. My only point is that I feel a certain irony that this emerging artist is submerging simultaneously. So I sit at the wheel with my 4.0 reading glasses, aching feet and frozen shoulder and wonder how long after emerging before the submerging takes over and my pieces become smaller and smaller and blurrier and blurrier. Anyway, I’m honored to be chosen and hope the my work can continue to emerge and my health can continue to resist submerging. Thanks for all the well wishes! Here’s some new yunomis…

yunomis

Tags: , , ,

12 Responses to “Emerging…”

  1. Judi Sapero Tavill Says:

    I am SOOOOOOOO happy for you… I may not comment all of the time but I ALWAYS read! You are awesome and I am loving this work and color story too!!! keep it up… I am RIGHT behind you as I begin to feel menopause knocking on my brain my body and my joints!!! And I am at 45 in August… Age is relative… you are proof!

  2. Ellen Mulligan Says:

    Congratulations, well deserved!

  3. Mary Sue Barnett Says:

    Beautiful work, Jim.
    Creativity is timeless.
    Mary Sue

  4. Rob - Simple Circle Studios Says:

    Big congratulations down to you in KY! You will undoubtedly be flooded with orders and will be a very rich man from now on.
    And kudos to CM for their impeccable taste in pots!
    And kudos to ME for MY impeccable taste in pots! (The green yunomi so prominently featured in the article just so happens to be the one I purchased a couple months back. I have a famous pot!)

  5. tracey Says:

    YAY!!!!!
    Congrats!

  6. Patricia Griffin Says:

    Bravo Jim! I loved opening up my CM issue and seeing you emerge! So exciting!

  7. medrecgal Says:

    That’s pretty awesome!! I like that first pot in particular; it looks sort of like there’s a fire behind the pattern with those colors.

  8. soubriquet Says:

    I was drinking guinness out of a Jim Gottuso yunomi the other day.
    Damn. That’s a future collectible now, too special to just drink beer out of.
    Maybe I should buy some wine.

    Congratulations, Jim, you thoroughly deserve it, your work is outstanding, and if the eyesight and the body change, maybe you’ll be the Monet of ceramics.

    I’ll have to go out and buy a copy of CM now.

  9. thecapricorntm Says:

    You deserve this my friend, I’m so happy for you 🙂

  10. M@ Says:

    I am willing to bet it was the wig and the lipstick that finally kicked down the door from your cocoon.

    At your age do you call it emerging or emergency?

  11. red dirt girl Says:

    Congratulations Jim!! I echo Soubriquet’s sentiments – well deserved and perhaps I should stop eating my frosted flakes out of my JG beehive bowl ……fresh strawberries with cream perhaps ???
    You definitely deserve all the kudos, and I’m honored to have crossed your path.

    xxx

  12. jim Says:

    thanks everyone for the kind sentiments

Leave a comment